A Plea for Sanity this National (US) Grammar Day

I came across this article by Kory Stamper, a lexicographer at Merriam-Webster .  In honor of National Grammar Day, I agree with Ms. Stamper that no, we are not really correcting your grammar as you speak, and no, unlike the militant grammarians, I am not compelled to correct grammar or spelling on signs, in public or during social exchanges.  Because it’s just obnoxious.

So thank you Kory, for expressing my feelings on correcting grammar in public.  I always consider how well I’d be doing, grammar-wise, if I were trying to live in China and figuring out how to communicate in Mandarin.  I already tried, and I suck.

Check it out:

A Plea for Sanity this National (US) Grammar Day | harm·less drudg·ery.

Categories: Newbie Guide Notes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

